08028142827, 08057685063 info@praisebaptistchurch.org

about us

our history

The birth of Sango Baptist Church (Now Praise Baptist Church) came to being in the year 1973. The First Baptist Church, Otta, which was the mother church, decided to work on the creation of a worship center that is closer to her members living around the Sango axis. The reasons for this was due to the location of the First Baptist Church Otta and the fact that the church is located near a dump site for refuse which affected the growth of the church.

In view of this, the church got a piece of land measuring up to 4 acres at Oju-Ore axis, which was proposed to accommodate the church, a mission house and a primary school but some members disagreed on the basis that the land was too much and a suggestion was made to Christian Association of Nigeria, Ogun State branch should build health facility on the said land.

At the progression of the work, a group of land owner rose up and said that a church cannot be built on the land. The land now hosts Iganmode Grammar School Otta today.

Not too long after then, Pa A.O Akinjobi, Elder Z.O Babatunde and some others got a piece of land and negotiated the price value of the land with the owner (Pa Deji Balogun Bankole) on which this church was built and was termed The PROMISED LAND.

In the year 1974, Revd S.O Falana from First Baptist Church Ilaro, laid the foundation of the church, in which the first service was held on the 31st December, 1974 (New Year Eve) and the following people were in attendance; Late Pa Z.O Babatunde (the church leader), Late Pa A.O Akinjobi, Late Pa. S.A Oloyede, Mrs. Edun, Mrs. Felicia Oloyede, Chief Ojo, Pa Coker, Mr and Mrs. Faliuyi and host of others.

In 1981, the need for a Pastor came up from the Ogun Baptist Conference. In 1982 Sango Baptist Church and three other churches namely; First Baptist Church Ifo, Pakoto Bapaist Church and First Baptist Church Otta agreed to call PASTOR JOHN ADE OGUNWUNMI to serve those churches.

He assumed office of Pastorate on 6th June, 1982 and was ordained to the full gospel ministry in the year 1984. He served the Lord in this capacity for thirty years  and retired in 2012 as Praise Baptist Church Pastor.

Under his leadership a lot of achievements were recorded and among them is the building of the present church auditorium which was dedicated to the glory of God in March 2012, by Revd Segun Jayesimi, the Ogun Baptist Conference President.

Pastor Victor Abolarin who was Music Minister of the church took the mantle of the church leadership from Revd Ogunwunmi in October, 2012 till June, 2014.

On the 1st of July, 2014, the church called Revd Israel Olusegun Ayuba to pastor the church, since he took over the leadership of the church, the Lord has been moving His church forward gloriously.

In the course of all these, the Lord has expanded His kingdom through church planting in various locations which include; Igbala Baptist Church, Igbala Sango, Victory Baptist Church Onipanu, Emmanuel Baptist Church Amje, Temidire Baptist Church, Temidire Sango, Glorious Baptist Church, Afobaje, First Baptist Church Oke-Osa Ilogbo, Shalom Baptist Church, the Bell Area Otta. By the Grace of God, all these churches had been added to the convention and almost all of them have been organized.

The office of the secretary has been up and doing, very supportive and productive as well. The following are the secretaries who had served the church till date; Mr. S. Omotaje, Mr. Olalawi, Mr. Ogungbohun, Mr. Olusoke Oke, Mr. Bolaji Oyedeko, Mr. Omodewu, Pa. Oguntade, Mr. F.F Babatunde, Barr. S.O.O Ojo, Mr. Matthew Ayoola, Mrs. Kehinde O.A, Mr. Gbadebo Adeyinke, Mr. O.O Olaewe, Mrs. J.O Ogunsola.

All the departments in the Baptist setting actually started function as soon as church came into existence which include  the following; Men Missionary Union (MMU), Women Missionary Union (WMU), Youth Fellowship, Drama, Media/Publicity, Social and Welfare, Benevolence, Mission/Evangelism and visitation, Children unit and Teenager unit.

Based on the leading of the Spirit, the leadership of the church decided to change the name of the church in the year 2012 from Sango Baptist Church to Praise Baptist Church.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This